Information

Chewy.com Review: Ordering Dog and Cat Food From Chewy


Katy writes honest reviews of the latest services with an eye for budget and practicality.

As a pet lover, you're used to budgeting for pet food and hauling the heavy bags through the store to your car. It's worth it to provide for your furry friends, so you don't think twice. But what if there was another option?

With Chewy, there might be a way to save you time and money if you plan it right and consider your options.

Learn about buying dog or cat food from Chewy and whether or not it's better for you and your pet in the long run.

Chewy Review

  • Shipping: free over $50 order
  • Costs: often beats brick and mortar pet stores
  • Autoship: not always worth it!

What Is Chewy.com?

Chewy began as a start-up looking to enable pet owners to save money on pet food by buying regularly. The idea gained popularity and the website was backed by reliable customer service.

Once the company grew large enough, it was acquired by PetSmart. It still runs iwth the same "subscribe and save" idea.

Shipping From Chewy

One of the biggest appeals of ordering your cat's or dog's food from an online store is the perk of not needing to haul in a heavy bag of pet food from the store.

Shipping Cost

Chewy charges a flat rate of $5 for shipping any order. Spending over $49 lets you skip the shipping charge, which is pretty easy to do if you have a couple hungry pups to feed.

The low cutoff for free shipping is really appealing to me. I order two months of dog food at a time, which for two medium-sized dogs is always over $50.

Delivery Speed

Nothing to complain about here. Orders are usually delivered 2 days after you place them, which is on par with Amazon Prime.

Brand Selection on Chewy.com

The cat food and dog food brands available on Chewy cross a wide range of budgets. Common, affordable brands like Purina, Meow Mix and Pedigree are available in a variety of quantities. The higher-end, quality ingredient brands like Blue Buffalo and American Journey are also available.

Cats and dogs that need specialized diets prescribed by their vets can get their food from Chewy. These are often hard to find in stores.

Dog and Cat Food Costs at Chewy.com

Cross-checking dog and cat food prices between Chewy and brick and mortar stores shows that Chewy usually meets the lowest price you see on the shelves.

Pet food is usually marked up a good deal in stores, especially with the brands that make grain-free or high protein food. Pet supply chains often run sales on brands of dog and cat food to counteract the listed price increase, but this means that any given time you walk in the store you could be paying for the markup.

Being at the mercy of sales is not a great place to be when purchasing a necessity you buy regularly for your pet. Because of the unpredictability of pricing in stores, buying from an online retailer can be much more reliable.

Pet Food Deals

You can sometimes find great discounts (10%-20%) on certain pet food brands.

Chewy always offers a 30% discount for new customers on their first Autoship order. That's a big discount but of course can only be used once.

Real Savings With Autoship?

One of the main features Chewy.com offers pet owners is the ability to sign up for a recurring shipment. This program is similar to Amazon's Subscribe and Save option where you get a reduced price for signing up for a subscription that ships to your house automatically.

This can be a good type of program to subscribe to for something like dog food where you have a predictable level of consumption and you can guess when you'll need to buy the product again. Wouldn't it be nice to not have to remember to pick up dog food at the store or make a special trip that night when you run out?

Expect Autoship to give you a 5% discount. There are some select brands that give a 10% discount, but those are fairly pricey to start with so might not be the best option.

Chewy lets you set up an Autoship which you can cancel or change at any time. Its longest subscription period offers a delivery every 4 months.

Treats, Toys, Supplements, and Miscellaneous Goods

There's more than just pet food available from Chewy, they also carry products for fish and birds. You can find dog and cat treats and toys as well.

Like the food, the prices on these accessories are almost always going to meet or beat the prices in store. As with any big online retailer, they are able to offer lower prices because they have less overhead. Also, you can expect online retailers to have the lowest price on the market because it is much easier for buyers to shop around when they don't have to go store-to-store to compare prices. Take advantage of this as the consumer, and find the products that will keep your pets happy while saving your money.

Should You Shop for Your Dog or Cat's Food at Chewy?

The bottom line is, if you avoid shipping charges and falling for the advertising gimmicks, Chewy can be the right choice for your dog or cat food.

If you don't order enough food at once to hit the free shipping mark, then the $5 shipping fee will be a large portion of the cost for you and it makes a Chewy purchase not worth it. In this case, stick to the brick and mortar pet store.

If you are ordering a large enough quantity to qualify for free shipping, then Chewy often has the best price—it is pretty hard to beat having huge bags of dog food delivered to your door!

Sign up for the Autoship option for extra savings if you are already hitting the minimum $49 for free shipping and you have a good feel for when you will need to restock.

© 2018 Katy Medium

Kathy Schramm on April 09, 2020:

I wonder if prices are going up because of the supply and demand during these difficult times. The cat food I buy went up 15% for my March shipment and now another 15% for my April shipment, so now 30% more than it was 2 months ago. After this quarantine is over I will have to shop for a cheaper option.

Mary on March 24, 2020:

Yikes! You are out of stock of the Purina Pro Plan Focus Weight Management food. I hope I have enough until this isolation for the virus is over. I know it's not your fault. We are in rough times!

Pam on February 21, 2020:

Have had two bad experiences with chewy lately. on the last order I found that they put a hold on the total amount of my order until they ship it and then they debit my account based on how they ship the order. But they do not release the original hold on the money until there other debits to your account clear So I ended up having $162 taken out of my account twice right before Christmas. and then it takes several days for the original hold to come off of your account. I spent about a week or more waiting for the funds originally on hold to be available on my bank account. I was not happy. The order before that I got a whole case of dog food that had dented cans. Again not happy. I'm looking for someone else to order from.

Amber Carson on May 22, 2019:

Chewy is the best, they know what customer service is and if you live above the 1st floor and no elevator...oh how happy am I? Shout out to the FedEx guy who carries 80lbs of litter and 40lbs of food to the second floor.

Katy Medium (author) from Denver, CO on May 22, 2019:

Hi Teresa, I've noticed prices rising on Chewy also! It seems like they used to have much better deals.

Teresa on May 22, 2019:

I have ordered from Chewy for years! Prices have gotten much more expensive since PetSmart bought them. I continue to order but have cut down due to their prices. Prefer to give the extra money to local small business owners then give to PetSmart!

Penny on May 20, 2019:

I love chewy.com. The staff is so nice. I am so pleased with their service and so helpful. I find the everything I get is a lot less costly. They even supply my dogs meds. I'm greatful that there is a great company out there for me.

3 thumbs up.

[email protected] on April 07, 2019:

Do you sell prescription dog food? I need Hill's Digestive wet and dry.


Showing 1-10 of 11 Reviews

Thera Pawz

By Crazycat on Mar 7, 2021

One of my cats has arthritis in his hip and he loves his Thera Pawz

0 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Cat pad is great

By Marilyn on Feb 21, 2021

The cat loves it and has stayed warm in my garage in this cold weather.

0 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Warming pad

Helped cats through extreme cold weather. It was record cold.

0 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Didn’t like it

By Shannon on Dec 18, 2020

This is a well made product and I could tell by laying it on my lap it would be warming in a crate or bed, or even in the floor. Unfortunately the materiel is stiff and rough and neither the cat nor dog world lay on it.

7 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Not the greatest

I was a little disappointed with these pads. I guess I expected something more than what resembled a car mat. My dogs didn't care for these either. I still love Chewy. Ill just be more careful next time.

3 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Does not work

I cannot feel any warmth at all except for what would be body heat on any surface,

4 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Thera-Pawz Warming Cat pad Grey

I think it should be good. She, the cat , liked it.

5 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

All of my animals love it.

By Ladybug on Nov 24, 2020

I bought it to go at the top of the stairs. Our older dog likes to lay there for the view all around. Well the cats found out it's cozy so now it gets alot of use.

6 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Great for travel!

By PuppyGoddess on Nov 5, 2020

We needed a self-warming mat to have in the car for our senior girls. They go on trips with us, and we obviously can't plug in a regular heated bed in our vehicle. This doesn't get super-warm, but it's great for their hips when placed over their "travel bed."

7 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Great Product!

I bought this for two outdoor cats that have been around our house for a few months. I have it in a tote sitting on top of a fleece blanket, and during the super cold nights the cats come out of the tote to eat and they feel warm. The mat is never cold to the touch, so I’m saying it works!!

14 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Your issue has been submitted. Thank you for your feedback.

Something went wrong. Please try again later.


Chewy contact number
1-800-672-4399
live chat support

Chewy pet food is also following the model of superior customer service pioneered online retailer Zappos. Chewy set a goal of answering the phone within five seconds and with a live person who is knowledgeable about the entire line of products the company offers its customers.

Headquarter of Chewy
Dania Beach, Florida, United States

Website: www.chewy.com


Save on Pet Food, Treats and Toys With Chewy's Summer Sale

There's no need to trek to the store when you can get all the goods on sale and shipped to your doorstep.

Related To:

During the summer, my dog goes everywhere I do — and there’s usually something in it for him, too. If we take a little post-dinner stroll to the ice cream stand down the street, he’s guaranteed to get the last few bites of a cone, and if we go hiking at a state park, he gets free rein of the backseat of my car and permission to chase all the squirrels he wants.

Suffice it to say, he's spoiled rotten, and thanks to Chewy, he gets the special treatment at home as well. If you're looking for new toys that will please your pup or want to stock up on your cat's favorite wet food, then you should definitely take advantage of their Soak Up Summer Savings Sale going on now through June 24. Keep scrolling to get all the details and see my top picks from each category.


I cancelled my order with Chewy several months ago due to them sending the wrong product. They are still charging my account. I called customer service and got a extremely rude “customer service rep”. I asked for a supervisor and she hung up. I called back for a supervisor and he was absolutely worthless. They had no right to charge me in the first place and then acted like I did something wrong.
After looking at their reviews, I have come to the conclusion this is not a isolated incident. There are other quality companies that really care about your business and I will be using them. Adios Chewy.

The customer service is unmatched by and company I've ever used!


Watch the video: Pet supplies first order (July 2021).